The Beginning

The Beginning

The title may seem a bit misleading but I’ll be taking a different perspective with these blogs.
The beginning of the trip didn’t start when we flew into the gorgeous San Salvador island for me. Instead, it started when our UTM290 group became a family.
The change was gradual, we began by playing card games in the hotel and later all over the island. We realized that Shaishav was a ruthless mafia player and Thomas had a witty sense of humour. Mercy has a heart of gold, Agatha cares about everyone unconditionally and Johnny became the older brother I’ve always wanted. And my girls, Mishika, Ayesha and Hibah are three of the most resilient women I’ve ever met and I’m proud to call them my team mates.
Tanya and the professors were always with us for support and a few mini adventures. Paul played a game of volleyball with us and Tanya, a few rounds of mafia in the back of the blue truck I called our second home for the week. Marc showed me a few patch reef sites were I collected seashells and our team collected our first round of data.
Before the trip we were barely talking to each other in class, now we’re talking about combining tables so everyone can sit together. Now it seems like class can’t come fast enough- something I don’t believe I’m typing right now; who knew?
Sarah
Leave a Reply

